Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Sign Up

RR4 feeling... empty

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by webkilla, Feb 2, 2017.

  1. webkilla

    webkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's another option - but I don't have any /back command in my single player games, so that's not really possible for me to do.
     
  2. Tetsuokin

    Tetsuo Trusted

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    6
    The next suggestion would be to make some sort of flying, so an angel ring, or jetpack..
     
  3. webkilla

    webkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Already have a nice jetpack - though to upgrade it further would require a lil too much gold and ender pearls than I currently have
     
  4. webkilla

    webkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Say, is there anything akin to drawbridges or some other form of "flick switch, ground goes away" kind of machines or devices in RR4?

    ...because without MineFactory Reloaded's machines to seperate newborn calves and then later send their adult versions to slaughter, using MFR's Chronotyper, then I can't automate a butchering process

    I figured a solution would be to set up some gold spikes in a pit under my auto-breeding facility, but then I need a way to pull the rug out from under them. Tinker's Mechworks used to have that, but I can't find any updated version of that.
     
  5. Tetsuokin

    Tetsuo Trusted

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    6
    Use the WOOT mod, or even make a cow spawner using ender IO or RFtools.. Easy Beef 4 Lyfe (acting like a child comes easy for me!)
     
  6. webkilla

    webkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont like woot - I like hearing the things I kill scream when I turn on whatever killing-constraption I have

    I guess I could make do with pistons and water, 'flushing' the cows into a pit with spikes - but honestly that would look so 1.3
     
  7. Tetsuokin

    Tetsuo Trusted

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    6
    Use a soul vial on a cow, then combine that with a broken spawner, then use the newly formed broken cow spawner and a ender IO spawner in an anvil, to make a powered cow spawner, power it while it's over spikes, and listen to the crunching of the bones, and the moo-screams as the spikes penetrate their frail leather covered bodies.. While laughing manically at their misfortune and suffering.
     
  8. webkilla

    webkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    that's one option - but I found that using a.. ok I don't have it up right now, but its a coal powered auto-breeding station you just chuck wheat into works really well. Started with two cows, now I can get herds built up really quickly)

    I need a sort of AOE solution that wont kill everyone, maybe just half. that was why I thought "I could just build a drawbridge under half the farmyard - and a spike pit under that"
     
  9. Cranky Old Coot

    Cranky Old Coot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am really missing Thermal Expansion and Mekanism. Getting OP early power was very easy. Maybe it is easy now, but I have to learn a whole new set of mods. Actually Additions seems to be very cool so far.
     
  10. Tetsuokin

    Tetsuo Trusted

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2016
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    6
    Extreme reactors have been simplified a bit to gain power, or even Immersive engineering windmills give a little bit of a power kick to get you started up in your adventure.
     
  11. webkilla

    webkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cranky - you can be a 1.10 version of mekanism, that works quite well IMO.

    Though, I have been getting a recent rash of crashes:

    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] Description: Unexpected error
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM]
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] java.lang.IndexOutOfBoundsException
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at java.nio.Buffer.checkIndex(Unknown Source)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at java.nio.DirectByteBuffer.put(Unknown Source)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.client.renderer.VertexBuffer.func_181669_b(VertexBuffer.java:400)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.client.renderer.VertexBuffer.func_181666_a(VertexBuffer.java:360)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.client.renderer.RenderGlobal.func_180445_c(RenderGlobal.java:1638)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.client.renderer.RenderGlobal.func_180447_b(RenderGlobal.java:1466)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.client.renderer.EntityRenderer.func_180437_a(EntityRenderer.java:1422)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.client.renderer.EntityRenderer.func_175068_a(EntityRenderer.java:1278)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.client.renderer.EntityRenderer.func_78471_a(EntityRenderer.java:1229)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.client.renderer.EntityRenderer.func_181560_a(EntityRenderer.java:1038)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.client.Minecraft.func_71411_J(Minecraft.java:1076)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.client.Minecraft.func_99999_d(Minecraft.java:371)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.client.main.Main.main(SourceFile:124)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.launchwrapper.Launch.launch(Launch.java:135)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM] at net.minecraft.launchwrapper.Launch.main(Launch.java:28)
    [16/2/2017 16:50:40 PM]

    that's the non-detailed version of the crash.

    the full one is here: http://paste.atlauncher.com/view/94b9af02

    I can't spot any specific mod that seems to have failed - though I suspect that it might have something to do with my cow-farm (it has a metric buttload of cows, crammed into a fairly small area) - might that be what crashes the game?
     
  12. Ryahn

    Ryahn Project Lead
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2016
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    4
    Doesnt help,

    Need this file **USERSDIR**\Instances\ResonantRisemk2\crash-reports\crash-2017-02-16_16.50.40-client.txt

    Also you cant have everything currently in RR4. If you want an AIO solution for mob grinding, Woot. You might try a killer joe if EIO still has it.

    To Note: The forums are not for full support. You must use the support system
    [​IMG]

    Submit a ticket with your crash log attached.
     
  13. webkilla

    webkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks - I had a poke at that

    Looking at the crash-report it seemed that the game was crashing because it was running out of memory. The strange thing there is that when I run the game, and check its memory usage, it hovers just under 8Gb. I had read elsewhere that non-64x Java dies when it has to go over 8gb of memory use.

    ...but in the ATlauncher I tell it that it can have 12Gb, and it seems to be saying itself that its running on the 64x version.

    So I manually went into my system controls and gave Java an extra 4Gb of memory to play around with... and what do you know?

    It did nothing. Whelp, better submit that support ticket then
     
  14. webkilla

    webkilla Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey, how long does it normally take the ATlauncher to clone an instance? I'm gonna go ahead and assume that it shouldn't take 3 hours
     
    #34 webkilla, Feb 16, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2017
  15. uzor

    uzor New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll have to agree with the dearth of mid-tier things. As stated above I really LIKE how the (old) quarrys had the downside of the big hole that needed to be managed as a side effect of the materials you were getting. The quantum quarry is the closest there really is to it that I have found in that it at least mines the same *way* as quarries used to (based on biome and digs an "actual" chunk rather than just being an RNG ore generator). Still feels kinda cheaty and unsatisfying though. Same with power generation. I always used to pick my power system based on something that sounded fun. One time I made a machine that auto planted and harvested Natura Redwood trees which were turned into charcoal then alumentum to be used in Railcraft steam boilers powering large banks of steam dynamos. Another time I made a TNT generating factory that ran off of a cobblegen that powered some upgraded TNT generators. Stuff like that. Guess I'll go make another reactor for now. As for mob farms, I know this isn't the right place for suggestions, but if you put in "Simply Conveyors", you can make some really satisfying grinders that blow (fans) mobs into the spiked conveyors which kill them and then fling their drops into the corner at high speeds (scooped up by a vacuum chest).
     
  16. jungalist81

    Jungalist81 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't seem like a challenge if you know what you're getting into.

    Veteran modpack MC players have developed this therapeutic efficient process when playing and doing anything else would be considered inefficient. Now that mods are changing and new mods are coming in, MC players have to now explore the unknown and learn and have to.... dare i say it MAKE MISTAKES.


    Dear Webkilla,

    its okay if you're not familiar with the modpack, its okay if you don't know the immediate efficient way to setup. Don't be ashamed by it, this is the true experience of playing modpacks - exploring and learning!